Resource Guides: Government Information: Sci/Tech

Space Flight

Georgia Tech's Library will be a Center of Excellence (COE) in the Southeast for NASA materials from the federal depository program.

NASA
NASA - Space Shuttle
Timeline, orbiter facts, crew directory, and more.
Wings in Orbit: Scientific and Engineering Legacies of the Space Shuttle, 1971-2010
More than 500 pages; a treasure trove of info. It also has appendices for: Flight Information - showing patch, orbiter, crew, launch date, mission days; and: Payloads and Experiments per Space Shuttle Flight (also in library, 3rd floor east: NAS 1.21: 2010-3409)
Shuttle and Rocket Launch Schedule - 2011 and 2012
STS-135: The Final Mission - Press Kit
Detailed info. (172 pgs.) from NASA on STS-135. Includes space shuttle history (p.7-56), plus brief info. on the new MPCV.
Post-Shuttle Age: the Future of NASA
This accompanies the Blended Research@the Library panel discussion (March 2011) on the future of NASA after the shuttle program ends.
Astronaut Fact Book
As of June 2022. 185 pages.
Apollo by the Numbers: a Statistical Reference
345-page book of statistical tables and data related to the Apollo program.
more...less...
NTRS url for citation is supposed to link to pdf; it did not in Jan. 2022 - http://hdl.handle.net/2060/20010008244
Space Florida
Mission: To drive Florida economic development across the global aerospace enterprise.
more...less...
Space Florida was created as an independent special district that uniquely serves as the single point of contact for all space-related functions of the State of Florida, and serves the civil, military and commercial sectors.
Celebrating 30 Years of the Space Shuttle Program
Lavishly illustrated; 286 pages. Download for free, or buy from the GPO bookstore - https://bookstore.gpo.gov/
NASA History - The Apollo Program

Gov't. Science Databases

Science.gov
Searches 50 databases, and 2100 websites, from 13 federal agencies. Now also includes Homeland Security.
more...less...
Over 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
DTIC
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) provides access to citations of unclassified, unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Technical Reports Collection.
WorldWideScience.org
Global science gateway, comprised of national and international scientific databases. Multilingual. Developed and maintained by OSTI (part of the Dept. of Energy).

Newsletters - National Labs

Technical Reports (Gov't-funded)

For more detail, please see the library's Technical Reports Research Guide, written by Bette Finn, ECE librarian.

NTIS (via ProQuest)
Try this first. Subscription database. For free database, see: https://ntrl.ntis.gov/NTRL/
Database name: National Technical Reports Library
more...less...
Search guide: http://www.ntis.gov/pdf/dbguid.pdf
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Free version of NTIS database - full-text for 800,000 technical reports, and with metadata for some pre-1964 reports. Personal account for free public access (requires username and password).
more...less...
NTRL expanded public access, Oct. 2014. For accounts inside the U.S. (outside U.S. requires premium subscription).
OSTI.gov
Combines DOE databases on science, technology, and engineering research information. Many technical reports.
more...less...
The DOE databases: DOE Information Bridge; SciTech Connect; Energy Citations. Info. on this at:
https://www.osti.gov/faq/where-is-scitech-connect
DOE Data Explorer
Scientific research data resulting from DOE-funded research
DTIC Online (from Defense Technical Information Center)
NTRS (NASA Technical Reports Server)
TRID
Formerly TRIS. Transportation. Free access.
TRAIL
Digitization project for a few gov't. agencies, including NBS.
more...less...
TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library. GT Library is one of the member institutions.
DOE Information Bridge
Became part of SciTech Connect, then that became part of OSTI.gov
SciTech Connect
Retired search tool within DOE's OSTI. The Library maintains an extensive collection of older DOE technical reports on microfiche.
more...less...
For a technical report not full-text, a request may be made to add a title (if available at DOE or NTIS) to the Library's collection - contact Bette Finn at 404-894-1790.

Patents

The Georgia Tech Library has been a Patent and Trademark Resource Center since 1946.

We will be a Center of Excellence (COE) in the Southeast for USPTO materials.

Patents & Trademarks - Research Guide
All Technologies Report - U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Part B is ranked list of corporations receiving at least 1000 patents from 1986-2010.
more...less...
Link from: http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/ac/ido/oeip/taf/reports.htm
Top 100 Worldwide Universities Granted U.S. Utility Patents
Annual ranking by the National Academy of Inventors. Latest is for 2014.

Handout - ALA Midwinter (Seattle, 2019)

Agency Updates and Shutdown links

Conference Handouts with Gov't. Info. Sources

Selected Science Resources from the U.S. Government

"Rolling in the Deep Web: Mining Free Resources for Science and Technology Information" - PowerPoint slides from COMO conference presentation, Oct. 2011.

Center of Excellence

Georgia Tech's Library will be a Center of Excellence (COE) in the Southeast; and, expanding our collection for these federal agencies: NASA ; USPTO ; EPA. The COE is part of the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL) Collaborative Federal Depository Program. For more info., see the box under the "FDLP Info." tab.