Resource Guides: Government Information: Technical Reports

Technical Reports - Information for Georgia Tech users

Please see the detailed online Technical Reports research guide by Bette Finn.

GT community

For individual technical reports that are not currently owned by Georgia Tech, a request (techreports@library.gatech.edu) may be made to add a title to the Library's collection. This service is free of charge for Georgia Tech students, faculty and staff.

Non-GT community
NTIS and NASA sell technical reports.

Technical Reports Databases

NTIS (National Technical Information Service)
Subscription database version (free version listed below). Covers more than 2 million records of research sponsored by the U. S. government. Note: summaries only. FREE NTIS database is at: http://www.ntis.gov/search/index.aspx (limited searching) .
National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Free version of NTIS - this is full-text for 800,000 technical reports, and with metadata for some pre-1964 reports. Personal account for free public access (requires username and password).
more...less...
NTRL expanded public access, Oct. 2014. For accounts inside the U.S. (outside U.S. requires premium subscription).
DOE Data Explorer
Department of Energy R&D in energy technologies, physics, chemistry, materials, biology, environmental cleanup, and more.
DTIC - Public Technical Reports
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) provides access to citations of unclassified, unlimited documents that have been entered into DTIC's Technical Reports Collection.
NTRS (NASA Technical Reports Server)
Includes more than 500,000 aerospace-related citations, 90,000 full-text online documents, and 100,000 images and video.
TRID (Transportation Research International Database)
Formerly TRIS database; from the Transportation Research Board. "TRID covers all modes and disciplines of transportation and contains more than 900,000 citations of published research" Focus is on books, technical reports, and conference proceedings. Over 64,000 records contain links to full-text documents.
TRAIL (Technical Report Archive and Image Library)
Digitized reports; focus is on pre-1975 technical reports issued by the U.S. government.
National Laboratories and Technology Centers
Dept. of Energy (DOE) list of national labs.
Science.gov
More than 60 databases and 2,000 scientific websites; more than 200 million pages of authoritative federal science information - including research and development results.
WorldWideScience
Global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. Developed and maintained by OSTI (part of the Dept. of Energy).